Developing your knowledge

So I can understand more of the options and courses available to me (or something I can work for), I need to look at different routes that I could take to go down the path of a career in media.

University Courses: 

Firstly, my future intentions don’t include going to a university, with that being said I don’t know a great deal about university or the courses they offer. It’s not that I don’t think university is any good, i’m just not entirely familiar with the concept, however getting into the debt seems a lot of trouble, especially since many successful filmmakers didn’t actually go to university and say spend the money on the your own films and equipment.

Scriptwriting course: Bournemouth University – (https://www1.bournemouth.ac.uk/study/courses/ba-hons-scriptwriting-film-television)

The script-writing course at Bournemouth university does seem quite appealing to myself. It focuses on developing your script-writing in a variety of mediums, and teaches the invaluable skill of pitching and getting your scripts noticed. This is a 3 year course however there is also a 30 week work experience placement which would also be extremely useful as experience is often deemed as valuable as a qualification if not more. This route sounds particularly good to me as I very much enjoy the process of scriptwriting, and working on a variety of aspect in film overall.

Cinematography course: London Film School – (http://lfs.org.uk/full-time-study/ma-filmmaking/areas-study/cinematography)

If I were looking to fulfil a career in cinematography, this is the course I would go on. And for me that does’t seem to bad; as the course seems to focus solely on the cinematography aspect, it would be a good way to expand my knowledge in the subject and create my own portfolio in the hope of getting a job after or freelance work. Not to mention the equipment they offer is amazing, as it is for most of these courses.

Editing Course: NFTS – (https://nfts.co.uk/our-courses/masters/editing)

Although it can be tedious, editing is one of my favourite aspects of the filmmaking process. This course would definitely be up there for one of my first choices. Not only would you get to expand your own knowledge and hone your editing skills, you would also gain experience with working with directors and other members of the production process to create the final product together, which could potentially gain you some contacts for out in the real world. The idea of creating or being able to drastically change the whole ideology or feeling of film by changing just how it is edited is very fascinating to me, this is why the course would appeal to me a lot also.

Film Course: Plymouth University – (http://university.which.co.uk/plymouth-college-of-art-p65/film-3-years-9000-w692)

This is not my most favourable course however there doesn’t seem to be many university courses that interest me to start with. The film course at university could be a good back up plan in case the practical film work doesn’t turn out how I want it to. For example I could take the teaching route if I needed to as I would still be learning about my passion and go on (hopefully) to teach students who I could then pass my knowledge onto and learn their passion about film. Some other perks are that Plymouth isn’t too far away from where I live now and that it has a high satisfaction rate.

Producing Course: NFTS – (https://nfts.co.uk/our-courses/masters/producing)

As another back up plan, providing that my film making career doesn’t go as I want it to, producing would also interest me. You would be at the very top of production and still have quite a bit creative impact on the film as well as getting to know all areas of the film production and having great job satisfaction. I also think this course would teach a lot in respect of confidence and people skills in general (which is something I say I would lack).

Work Experience: 

While looking at work experience I noticed that most of these positions are runner jobs which is standard and expected for this level of work. So I just looked at places that I thought would be beneficial if I had a work experience placement with that particular company/brand.

BBC – (http://www.bbc.co.uk/careers/work-experience/)

Working with the BBC would probably be the most beneficial work experience course available the way I see it. First of all they are such a big name that it would be hard for potential employers to ignore and secondly they have all of the resources and skills to actually be able to teach you something valuable. It would teach you so much about the world of work since you would be working with real professionals working in real work placements. There are actually a lot of people that apply for this and since they can only accept a few which would make it a lot more satisfying to actually get chosen and go to work experience at BBC.

Films@59 – (http://www.filmsat59.com/about-us/careers/)

Films@59 is a growing company that provides camera equipment hire and offers post production services as well at others. I think working with a smaller company would be great for gaining confidence and general expanding knowledge. Plus I think at a smaller workplace you would get more one to one time and gain contacts with the people while building long lasting relationships. Personally I think it would feel more like you are actually a contribution to them rather than having a bunch of other people doing the same thing as you like a placement at the BBC.

Apprenticeships

In the area that I live in there are little to none apprenticeships available for a career in film. With this being said I have took into account the location of where I would go to in relation with the type of apprenticeship. For example doing an apprenticeship would be most beneficial in a big city environment such as London for example as there are so many more extra film opportunities. This is true particularly since apprenticeships can last a while and it would be a shame to be tied down to just that without having any other options.

ITV – (http://www.itvjobs.com/workinghere/entry-careers/apprenticeship-programme/)

An apprenticeship at ITV in my eyes would be extremely valuable. Again because it would look very good on the CV to potential employers and on your record. But you would gain so much experience working as if you were an actual employee of a big company like ITV. The difference between work experience and an apprenticeship at a big company like this is significant and career changing in my opinion; because with an apprenticeship you would be not only be learning but earning too while developing your own skills and adjusting to the type of work you are doing.

Career Progression Routes:

Freelance:

In my eyes freelance is the most appropriate route that would play with my skills and go well alongside my preferred working method. First of all you would be your own boss, working with clients that you can get or that you want by offering your services. Getting noticed this way would be very beneficial as you would be learning a lot, not just about your passion but also gaining and building on your understanding of business. Although there are some disadvantages of not being able to get work, but overall I would agree that this is the way I would like to start out. Getting paid for working with clients and building a professional portfolio while expanding your own knowledge.

Leave a Reply

