Reflecting on Sucess

  • Evaluate how you met audience needs – produce a detailed evaluation exploring the ways in which your TV show would engage with a specific audience. Be critical of your own work and reflect on how successful you have been.
  • Evaluate your own involvement and personal development – produce a detailed evaluation exploring your own involvement in this project. Which roles did you take on? How would you judge your own contribution? Finally reflect on how this experience might impact your own future progression – do you enjoy working in large teams? Did you enjoy working in Live TV? How well are you able to produce products that appeal to a specific audience?

Ok so my role in the TV production was actually a camera operator. This was my most favourable role and I’m Glad I was able to get this role however when it came to our final shoot, I had camera 2 which was literally just a wide shot and I was instructed to keep it still so watching take over take of the Tv studio rehearsal got extremely boring, very fast, particularly since there was no challenger or even movement of my camera. However during my research I did watch a few Tv shows and the wide shot didn’t have a great deal of movement, mainly dolly in game back and forth so that was to be expected. When our first idea was still in play, I was a part of the insert filming production team, and I was really excited to do this, we had a great bunch of ideas but in the

When our first idea was still in play, I was a part of the insert filming production team, and I was really excited to do this, we had a great bunch of ideas but in the end it never went ahead as we changed ideas often and not everyone could seem to agree what was best. But I was also heavily involved in the idea process and creation of the ‘Who’s Scene It’ but unfortunately this was too late despite our efforts. When I said ‘our’ I am referring to another member of our group; Ben. We took it upon ourselves to try and film A Harry Potter scene with a comedic twist as an insert idea. Most people also contributed two pounds for a Dobby mask which cost £15 and we set dressed Bens room which would be where we would be filming the scene, unfortunately since we only had about a few days to complete this, it was also not achievable and we failed to create the entire insert before the producer eventually called it off, as we changed the idea for the final time. This last idea was last resort and very simple, but appropriate for the situation we was in, it was going to be a review show with our inserts being the trailers to the films we were reviewing. I have to say that on the day everyone did quite well with their roles even though we didn’t get a great deal of practise, and every time we entered the studio it was with a different idea, just unfortunately we didn’t have original and good content. I would say that for me, I didn’t really like this unit, a lot of people fell out and it was such a stressful time and this was my least enjoyed unit. However it was a very useful experience because of this, we now all know the importance of teamwork and communication.

I would say that for me, I didn’t really like this unit, a lot of people fell out and it was such a stressful time and this was my least enjoyed unit. However that’s not to say I didn’t learn anything. I learned how important communication is between the group; and how that can quickly send a project downhill. For this project I felt everyone had different had different ideas for the projects and no one really knew what the final project would be, plus the producer did change the idea 1 or 2 times but that was also a group vote. Making it very difficult to keep changing research, pre -production while still trying to maintain a steady production.

Every single session we had in the TV Studio we had a different project idea, we rehearsed different ideas due to the ideas changing so frequently.

Leave a Reply

